To apply for the Itabaiana Protege allowance, the caregiver of an eligible child or adolescent living in Itabaiana, in the Brazilian state of Sergipe, should visit the TEAcolhendo Autism Reference Center in person, present the child's medical report and submit a request. This is the procedure described by Itabaiana City Hall after the program was launched on June 23, 2026. The scheme provides R$ 1,200 a year exclusively for private consultations with a pediatric neurologist. The availability of new applications as of October 26, 2026 could not be confirmed from the publications reviewed.
Who is eligible to request the allowance
The Municipal Health Department's announcement covers families of children or adolescents with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), Down syndrome, microcephaly or cerebral palsy, provided they live in the municipality of Itabaiana. The money is earmarked for appointments with a pediatric neurologist in private practice. It is neither a monthly payment nor unrestricted income for household expenses.
The municipal legislation register lists Law No. 2,883/2025, published on August 27, 2025, as the law establishing Itabaiana Protege. That register was reviewed, but the full legal text and any supplementary regulations could not be checked. Accordingly, the administrative details below are limited to the information made public in the municipal notices that were actually examined.
How to apply at TEAcolhendo
- Go to the TEAcolhendo Autism Reference Center in Itabaiana.
- Bring the child or adolescent's medical report and make the request to the responsible staff.
- Ask how funding for the appointment will be released before arranging a private consultation.
- After the pediatric neurology appointment, return to the center to account for the use of the funds, as instructed by the municipality.
When announcing the center in June 2024, City Hall gave its address as Rua Percílio Andrade, No. 1633, in the former Dr. Lauro Maia Primary Health Unit. Because this information predates the allowance's launch, families should confirm that applications are still handled there and check opening hours before traveling. The program announcement does not provide dedicated opening hours, a direct phone number or an online application form.
Required documents and proof of expenditure
The child's or adolescent's medical report is the document explicitly requested in the June 2026 instructions. City Hall also states that the caregiver must return to account for the expenditure after the consultation, but the notice does not specify a deadline, an accepted proof-of-payment format or a complete list of documents required to open the application.
In August 2025, when the measure was still being presented as a draft law, the municipality mentioned household income per person as a criterion and invoices as proof of spending. That announcement also said the choice between public and private schooling would not determine eligibility. Because the 2026 operational announcement does not specify an income threshold or acceptable receipts, it would be unsafe to state that the rules remain exactly as originally proposed. Applicants should confirm the current requirements with the center before booking or paying for an appointment.
What still needs confirmation
The publications reviewed do not provide an application calendar, a cap on beneficiaries, a current income threshold, the number of consultations allowed per recipient, the fund-release timeframe or detailed review steps. They also do not establish whether new applications are being accepted on this date. A municipal report published in September 2026 again mentioned Itabaiana Protege among health initiatives but did not clarify these operational matters.
The verifiable guidance, therefore, is to visit TEAcolhendo with the medical report and confirm the additional paperwork, award conditions and expense-reporting procedure in person. This article draws on institutional information accessed on October 26, 2026; it does not confirm that any particular applicant will be granted the allowance.
Sources and references
- Itabaiana City Hall: program launch and instructions, June 23, 2026; updated June 30, 2026
- Itabaiana City Hall: official legislation register, listing Municipal Law No. 2,883/2025 (register, not the full law)
- Itabaiana City Hall: TEAcolhendo address published June 26, 2024
- Itabaiana City Hall: description of the proposed law, August 14, 2025
- Itabaiana City Hall: institutional activities report published in September 2026





